HomeAll About FreightWhere to get freight...

Where to get freight broker license?


There are a few different ways to get your freight broker license. You can go through an accredited school like the American Trucking Associations or the National Freight Brokers and Agents Association, or you can take an online course. There are also various freight broker associations that offer certification.

Once you have your license, you’ll need to get a freight quote from a trucking company. You can compare rates and find the best deal for your shipment.

Answers from other websites

As part of the MAP-21 law, all freight brokers are required to obtain a bond or trust in the amount of $75,000 in order to obtain their license. The BMC-84 and BMC-85 are quite different from one another, so how do you decide which one is best for you?


BMC-84 premiums can range from $750 – $9,000 per year (this will vary based on your financial strength, e.g. personal credit). The BMC-84 bond usually requires zero collateral. If you’re interested in a BMC-84 bond quote, you can apply online now. You can learn more about surety bond costs and how they are determined by reading our comprehensive pricing guide.

Cost: $750 – $9,000 (zero collateral)

Getting Your Unified Carrier Registration

Once you decide to get either the BMC-84 or BMC-85, the final step in the legal process is obtaining your Unified Carrier Registration (UCR). For freight brokers, it’s relatively simple and inexpensive at only $76. If you’re also a motor carrier, then your registration cost will vary depending on the size of your fleet. In either case you’ll need to re-register and pay the fee annually.

How to install freight train nacelle?

Fortunately, the system for registering has been updated relatively recently. The UCR system registers and collects fees from the operators of vehicles engaged in interstate travel. Registering through this system can be done online at the UCR application website. They even have a mobile application.

However, it’s important to note that this system currently operates in most states except the following: Oregon, Wyoming, Nevada, Arizona, Florida, Maryland, New Jersey, and Vermont. If you operate in one of the latter, you’ll have to complete a separate process to register there.

Cost: $76

Freight Broker License – information from DAT.COM

DAT Authority has helped thousands of brokers get their trucking businesses off the ground.

Opening a freight brokerage business is an exciting opportunity, but you can’t get started until you’ve completed all the necessary paperwork. DAT Authority helps you get ahead as a freight broker, and avoid headaches with your accreditation and registration requirements.

  • Apply for authority as a broker — without the hassle.
  • Meet your federal and state brokerage requirements.
  • Find process agents in each state you operate in.

Most Popular

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Nikolas White

Logistic, Warehouse and Shipping Services Expert. My work has been published in many different formats across North America with topics ranging from international trade to global logistics or supply chain management–all on the forefront of what’s happening right now!

More from Author

What type of 3pl traces their origin to freight movement via truck, rail, or other?

Logistics.Big thank you to Luis Nipoli for this brilliant insight!Throughout the...

What is a reason for using 3pl services?

Businesses face numerous problems, such as: cash flow, communication, marketing and...

What is a 3pl logistics provider?

3pl refers to the three major strategic priorities for logistics. These...

what is 4pl in logistics?

The acronym 4PL (which stands for “4th Party Logistics”) is a...